Around The League

USASA Shuts Down Soccer Until April 30

The US Adult Soccer Association announced on March 23 that all soccer activities are suspended until April 30. The 2020 outdoor season remains on hold until further notice.

NSL Suspends Remainder of Indoor Season

The NSL's Executive Board met on March 12 to discuss the status of the current indoor season in light of the increasing threat of the coronavirus. The Board concluded that the final two rounds of the indoor season have been canceled, as well as the post-season Cup Tournament. Without knowing how long the coronavirus will remain a significant threat and the fact that many teams will likely be focusing on the outdoor season by the time the threat has diminished, the Board concluded that postponing the season and playing the last two rounds later was not a feasible option.


Ending the season prematurely, however, has an impact on the final standings in both Divisions. The Board has come up with a solution that is fair and reasonable to all teams involved in meaningful matches.


Major Division Champion: Albanian Stars

Relegated from Major Division to First Division: HDS Eagles


First Division Champion: Czarny Jaslo

Czarny Jaslo and CD Taji are promoted to the Major Division for the 2020-21 indoor season.


HDS Eagles would very likely have been relegated had the season played out. In order to catch 7th-place Vikings AA, Eagles would have needed to beat them by 16 goals in their return match, and then would have had to win their last match, and would have needed Vikings to lose their last match.


We had anticipated a playoff between the 7th-place team in the Major Division and the 2nd-place team in the First Division for a spot in the Major Division. With the race for the two promotion spots in the First Division still in the balance, we thought that the fair thing to do was to promote both Czarny Jaslo and CD Taji and eliminate the winner-take-all Promotion Match.


This is not a perfect solution and the Board recognizes this aspect. But there is no perfect solution when a health crisis hits.

NSL Meeting - March 18, 2020 - IMPORTANT UPDATE

The League will hold its next General Meeting on Wednesday, March 18. This meeting will be by conference call ONLY. Start time is 8.00 PM.


The call-in number has been provided to all club managers via separate email.


Along with the regular agenda items, we will focus on summarizing the indoor season and preparing for the outdoor season. Thus, attendance is mandatory for all clubs.


Collection of fees ($500 Affiliation Fee and $100 Membership Fee, where appropriate) will take place at a later date.


Teams should also have permits lined up for their home fields. Please note that all home fields are subject to approval by the NSL Executive Board.


The season will begin on Sunday, May 3.

NSL Indoor Season - No Games on Feb 14

The National Soccer League will be idle on Friday, February 14. The schedule resumes on February 21.

2020 Outdoor Season - Apply Now

The National Soccer League is accepting applications for the 2020 outdoor season, slated to kick off in late April. The early-bird affiliation fee is $200, which is a $300 savings off of the regular $500 fee. In order to take advantage of this huge discount, teams must submit their affiliation fee no later than March 1, 2020.


For more information, contact us.

Autlan top B-H Lilies in Anniversary Tournament

Autlan grabbed top honors in the NSL's 100th Anniversary Tournament, held on Sunday at the Odeum Sports Expo. They downed B-H Lilies 2:1 in a back-and-forth final.


CKS Warta and United Serbs Hellenic advanced to the semifinals by virtue of winning their respective groups in the first phase of the tourney. Autlan dispatched Warta 5:0 in one semifinal match, while the Lilies doubled up United Serbs Hellenic 4:2.


Over 400 people attended the day-long event, serving as a celebration of 100 years of great soccer.


Please go to our NSL 100 page for a full summary of the groups and scores of the matches.